The off switch

The brain is weird. For quick clarification, I am talking about the organ and not the cartoon mouse with the Orson Welles complex. We all have one. The brain is something we depend on and still struggle to understand. Even people who aren’t what you’d call “thinkers” use their brain on the most basic levels.

I love/hate my brain. Sometimes I wish it had an off switch.

My brain helped me get through college and grad school. It lets me enjoy reading and music and movies and so many other things. It has helped me write stories, poems, plays, regardless of whether they ended up being any good. It lets me play with my kids. It lets me communicate with people, especially the ones I love.

My brain also likes to bitch slap me. It will smother me in doubt and insecurities. It will trigger anger that I will struggle to control. It will take an attempt to me cool and interesting and turn it into, well,  me seeming like a guy who consumed a box of crayons. It stops me from communicating with people.

My brain almost never shuts up. I have had one or two people accuse me of having a stutter. I have known people who actually have that condition, so I know what that really sounds like. But there are times when I have so many thoughts trying to get out of my head and once I just stop talking for a moment. I guess that’s close enough to stuttering for some people. They are probably the same people for whom Velveeta is close enough to cheese.

I would love to have an off switch for my brain. Keep the basic, life-giving functions going but just have the option to shut everything else down. If nothing else, having the option of doing that at night when I’m trying to sleep would be awesome.
It would be great to have a restful night’s sleep on a regular basis.

Although, I suppose this off switch concept may be too much like turning into a zombie for some. I can’t say the whole human flesh-eating and rotting appendages is appealing. Though it does put an interesting spin on the whole “brraaaiiinsss” idea.

Damn it. Just my luck to have an idea that could actually cause the zombie apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

