Words to read by

I will never pretend to really understand people in general. I can relate to some more than others, as we all can, but we are just too damn confusing as a whole. Everyday stuff shoots out of the mouths of my fellow Homo sapiens that just makes my head hurt. For the moment, though, I will focus on one in particular that just bugs me.

“I don’t really read books.”

What? We have people out there who don’t read books?

In case you haven’t figured it out, I love to read. I love stories and novels. I prefer fantasy, sci-fi, satire, humor, and things of that ilk. I also enjoy non-fiction and biographies when it’s a topic I want to learn more about. I get a frustrated when I don’t have something to read. I will reread books all the time.

It blows my mind when someone says they don’t read. Not that they can’t read. They DON’T. I imagine my face must look like a dog that’s trying to understand English when someone tells me this. I get that someone may not like the kind of books I do, but to not read at all just seems wrong to me.

First off, I’m not ranting against people watching TV and movies instead of reading.  I do all those things. Sometimes I do choose TV over books. And there are plenty of crap books out there to go with the crap TV. But that is no excuse for never reading at all. Read whatever you want. I love that my wife reads and that I can talk about books with her. I love that my toddler like books. I even love that my baby likes to chew on books. At least that’s a start.

The fact that you had to read things in school that you didn’t like is no excuse. So did I. We all did. I also struggled in math class, but I still use numbers. If you don’t want to fill up your house with books (which again, confuses me) then get a Kindle or a library card. And on a side note, if you do read but it’s limited try to branch out a bit. Only reading non-fiction? Look for a novel that appeals to your interests. Stories are important. Do you ONLY read novels? There must be a subject you want to know more about. Get a book on that and read it. Make your brain happy.

This should go without saying, but if you are a parent I really hope you read to your kids. It’s one of my favorite things to do. If you don’t, then you are cheating them as well as yourself. Sorry, but that’s how I see it.

Okay, I will close this particular rant. I like books. I like to read. The end.

 

 

One thought on “Words to read by

  1. I will never understand the idea of choosing not to read. There is just so much out there waiting for me to read. Can the non readers do my housework and other adult type activities so that I have more time to read?

Leave a Reply

