The call of the game

My wife and I, for those who don’t already know, are of the kind of people who were immortalized in Weird Al’s “White & Nerdy.” It should be no surprise then that Lisa and I have been talking about re-introducing D&D into our lives. This would be Dungeons and Dragons for the unacquainted. Not Dunkin’ Donuts, which has never really been absent from our lives.

Lisa came to D&D gaming late in life, post-college through the invitation of Frank, a friend and coworker. He was going to be the DM (Dungeon Master) and was putting a new campaign together. This ended up being my reintroduction. I had first played with some cousins who were very casual about it. I then played with a few friends in high school who were VERY fast and loose with the rules. When I was a freshmen in college, I briefly participated in a short-lived game there. Fast forward about ten years later. Lisa and I are suddenly gaming with people who actually know what there doing. It’s a little daunting and we are learning (or relearning) as we go. Still, I found myself really looking forward to it. I should mention that I wasn’t very good. I did a decent job with the role-playing when I created characters I could get into. It was the “roll playing”, or the throwing the dice and having to do math, that always slowed me down a bit.

We played with the guys for a few years and then the games stopped, due to people moving and just the increased difficulty of keeping the campaign running. By this point, Lisa and I had started playing two other games. We were in another D&D game and a White Wolf “World of Darkness” campaign, which our friend Paul/Beatle ran for us. World of Darkness is also a lot of fun (this is the system that spawned Vampire: the Masquerade and Werewolf: the Apocalypse) and Beatle is a great storyteller. Alas, the new D&D game fizzled out and moving put an end to the White Wolf game. To be blunt, I really miss it.

Now we have a couple friends who have expressed interest in giving D&D a try. Lisa has been talking about learning to be a DM, which I think she would be very good at. Of course, we have children now and we need to figure out how to balance that into the equation. I’m hoping this works out because I’ve realized how important this became to my life. First, it’s a great social activity. Second, I enjoy the stories that develop. A big thanks to both Frank and Beatle for building some wonderful stories and bringing gaming back to my world. I can only hope that as Phoebe and Zoe get older, they will be the type of girls who have their mother’s “lady nerd” gene. Maybe a family campaign is in the future?

We need to break out the dice. The game is afoot.

Leave a Reply

